Montreal Comiccon Québec City Comiccon

Ottawa Comiccon 2018

May 11 to 13, 2018

Countdown :: 75D : 19H : 24M : 14S

EY Centre


Original cast of Degrassi High reunites at Ottawa Comiccon!

March 07, 2017

Ottawa Comiccon is thrilled to welcome four original cast members of Degrassi High, including Pat Mastroianni (Joey Jeremiah), Stacie Mistysyn (Caitlin Ryan), Stefan Brogren (Snake “Archie” Simpson) and Kirsten Bourne Kelly (Tessa Campanelli).

A select few Canadian television productions have had success outside our borders: SCTV, Kids in the Hall, You Can’t do that on Television, and, of course, Degrassi. The original series, Degrassi Junior High (1987-1989) and Degrassi High (1989-1991), served as the antithesis of slick, unrealistic shows that were prevalent on US television, by grittily portraying teens who looked and talked like their real-life equivalents. The original show aired in the US on PBS and earned a rabid cult following, which included such soon-to-be famous fans like director Kevin Smith. The original run ended with the two-hour series finale, "School's Out", which brought the CBC its highest ratings.

“Why are we doing this? It’s Degrassi Jr. High’s 30th anniversary on television and Canada’s 150th. We thought it would be a great way to celebrate both. For three decades, Degrassi has become large part of Canadian pop culture. It’s been an international calling card for Canadian identity”, Mastroianni wrote.

The cast will be at Ottawa Comiccon on Saturday, May 13 and Sunday, May 14 to meet fans, participate in photo ops and sign autographs, and will re-unite on stage on Sunday, May 14.